Almond Milk Easier Then You Think

10622728_10152594310526351_6440576681598983454_n

For as long a I remember I’ve suffered from joint pain in my ankles, knees and fingers. A few years back it was suggested to me that I remove dairy from my diet, as dairy can be inflammatory for some. I finally decided to listen 100% to this advice and I have to admit I’ve noticed a big difference. All that being said; finding almond milk that has zero preservatives, is not pasteurized and is additive free is almost impossible. So I decided to make my own.

I started by googling almond milk recipes and found this great blog post on How to Make Almond Milk at Home that I followed. As suggested in the post I turned the left over paste that was in my nut milk bag into almond flour, however I approached it a bit differently. Since we have a dehydrator I placed the past on a ParaFlex sheet and ran the dehydrator at 105F for 10 hours.  Once the past was hard I placed it in my Vitamix and pulsed it on the highest setting until it was turned into a smooth flour. This flour can be stored in the refrigerator in an airtight container until you are ready to use it.

My 2 cents on making almond milk. It was pretty easy. You need to plan ahead. It is very yummy. As soon as a batch is done start working on your next batch.

Is making your own almond milk cost-effective? Probably not, however when your family has a bunch of crazy dietary restrictions it’s worth it.

One thought on “Almond Milk Easier Then You Think

  1. Pingback: Spelt Pancakes aka “better then papa’s” | Food Life Pole w. P

Leave a Reply

