One day I will find my splits (Part 1)

If you are a pole dancer I don’t need to explain why I would like to find my splits again to you.  See I lost them almost a year ago when I injured my hamstrings doing the front splits on the pole.

Six months of physio and lots of loving care over the past year has brought me to the point where I am ready to get there again. So I am dedicating the next bit to understanding my body and trusting it to get bendy once again.  I am going to nurture my muscles after every practice and every morning.

My action plan will probably change over time but for now all I want is to no longer feel like my hamstrings are crying when I try to get into the splits. If I gain grown on getting my splits back at the same time all the better.

Number One: I take every morning and before any practice that involves intense splits a homeopathic called Colocynthis recommended for me by Sam at SOS Holistics. This homeopathic helps with the healing of what I like to call my “butt joint” also known as coccyx.

Number two: I have been using magnesium spray in the evening. This
apparently helps with muscle relaxation. Not certain if it’s helping with my splits but it’s now been 3 nights in a row I have used it and it’s been 3 nights in a row I have had the best sleep in ages. Also my shoulder that is often sore in the morning feels perfectly fine.

Number three: I started doing yoga every morning. I am currently working on a customized a yoga flow that maximizes stretching while minimizing strength work. I would rather keep my strength work for pole and other cross training I do.  The flow concentrates on opening up my chest, back, shoulders, hips and hamstrings.

Number four: I no longer slack on post pole stretching.

Number five: I attend a weekly flexibility class at the Pole Inc. Friday night’s Flex for Polished Moves and Pointed Toes! with Sam is awesome. It’s probably one of the craziest classes I go to every week; I love it and my body loves me for
attending every week.

So here are my benchmark pictures for my splits, I plan on taking new picture every Monday to record progress from my hard work. week 1 Aug 25 2014 middle week 1 Aug 25 2014 Rightweek 1 Aug 25 2014 Left

 

4 thoughts on “One day I will find my splits (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: One day I will find my splits (Part 2) | Food Life Pole w. P

  2. Pingback: One day I will my splits (Part 3) | Food Life Pole w. P

  3. Pingback: One day I will get my splits (Part 4) | Food Life Pole w. P

  4. Pingback: One day I will get my splits (Part 5) | Food Life Pole w. P

Leave a Reply

