Beauty Comes in All Sizes

I finally joined the Pinterest bandwagon. How does this relate to my blog post title “Beauty Comes in All Sizes“?  The first Pinterest Board I want to share with you is an important one for me; it’s the celebration of women and their beauty – Beauty Comes in All Sizes. Anyone who knows me well understands that I have struggled with weight and self image issues my whole life, pole dancing has helped me accept that my body is beautiful. When I first started to pole dancing my biggest fear was the size of clotting one “had” to wear. (or at least I felt like I had to wear)

I am much smaller now then I used to be however, for as long as I can remember I have felt fat. This goes back to when I was a kid I remember thinking this in Junior High when I would have been 13 years old.  Where this came from i’m not certain. Could it be society projecting on me? Could it be because my mother who was always struggling with her weight? Could it be my peers talking about the fact that they felt fat? Could it be me wanting to be like the “it” girls in school? I really don’t know, my guess is it’s a combination of all of the above. I finally no longer feel fat. I feel beautiful, sexy and strong!

I would like to give a shout out to Pole Geek since I was inspired to start this board while reading one of her post.

I challenge you to also start a Pinterest Board entitled “Beauty Comes in All Sizes”.  If you do please share it in the comments below I would love to see it.

Since it’s throwback Thursday today; I leave you with a few older images of me…

IMG_0399

1999 (I believe) – I can’t believe I used to feel fat at that point in my life.

I look at this picture and think man I was so tinny. To only have the wisdom and strength at 19 that I have today.

198193_5758491350_3297_n

April 28, 2007 – I have so few pictures from this period of my life.

20131_338156201350_3246940_n

February 13, 2010 – I am probably close to my biggest here.

Stars 1

March 2, 2013 – When this was taken I think I would have freaked if this picture was posted.

Today the star shorts I am wearing in the picture have become my favorite pole dancing outfit.

603716_10151577256266351_129132939_n

April 23, 2013 – Taken before my 3rd pole dancing class.

I never expect pole dancing to change my life as it did.

Leave a Reply

