Urban Garden – In images

I did my best to photograph my harvest from our small urban garden. I know a missed a few early on in the season. (We had about 30 salads worth of greens and  probably 6 nice big bunches of radishes that I never photographed.) However this gives you a great perspective on how much one can grown in a tiny garden.

sphotoLocation of Urban Garden: Toronto Ontario, (Leslieville)

Cost for seeds and seedlings: $30

Size of Garden: 27′-0″ x 2′-6″

Year: 2014

 

For all of you that are trying to cut cost on food this is a great way to save money. As you can probably imagine my garden yield much more then $30 worth of food. In Toronto I also need to keep in consideration water consumption for cost as we pay by amount used for our water tax however this summer was pretty good and on average I only had to water once or twice a week.

Other then cost savings why do I enjoy gardening? I get almost free food, my yard looks lovely with lots of great plants growing in it, my son learns and understand where food comes from, gardening is a great form of exercise, nothing beats fresh produce, I find gardening relaxing, forces you outside in the sun, conversation piece with neighbours. I could continue to go on.

photo 1-1 photo 1 photo 2-1 photo 2 photo 3photo9photo 2-2photo 3-1photo 1-2photo 1-3photo 2-3photo 1-4photo 2-4photo

photo 11photo10

photo 8photo7photo 5photo6

Leave a Reply

