Verticalove Q&A with Emily Sweet

Fran Mackenzie connected me with some of the Verticalove performers, each performer was sent the exact same set of questions to answer.

Q&A with Emily Sweet from Redwood City, California (age 20)

image3Is that your real name or a stage name:

It is my real name.

Home Studio (if you have one):

I have a pole in my college dorm room.

Is this your first performance?

I did preform once previously at my studio for their Christmas party.

How long have you been pole dancing?

Since October 2014

How often do you train?

I try to aim to train at least four times a week.

Before pole where you a dancer, gymnast or any other kid of athlete?

Not at all. I never was good at any sort of athletic activities as a kid. I was told I had a good rhythm though!

Do you train on both sides when you pole? Why or why not?

I try my best to! I don’t want one side to be stronger than the other.

Are you a full time poler; If you’re not a full time poler, how do you balance work, friends, life and pole?

I’m a full-time student in a college fitness program. Luckily I have a pole at the dorm so I don’t have to travel far to practice. My friends will come to give feedback and learn a move or two.

What inspires your movement?Why do you dance?

I dance for many reasons. I love to see my progress, express myself and just dance.

Heels or No Heels?

No heels for now.

Favourite song to dance to?

Right now I love dancing to Closer by Nine Inch Nails.

Favourite pole dance move?

The diamond spin on both static and spinning poles!

What pole move is your nemesis?

The shoulder mount is what I’m working on at the moment.

Favourite pole clothing brands?

I buy a lot of stuff off eBay and Etsy.

Pole of choice: Size, Material, Height, Static, Spin?

Static, 50mm and as tall as possible.

Finish this sentence.

Pole dancing is…. My new favourite creative expression.

I would like to say thank you  Emily Sweet for taking the time to answer these questions and sharing her answers with my readers and me. Also I want to remind all my readers that you can enter for a chance to win 2 tickets to Verticalove simple by following the step by step directions on my contest blog post page (warning you do need to post a link to a picture of you pole dancing in the comments, this can be from FacebookTwitterInstagram or anywhere’s else on the web).  Also you can buy tickets online to attend Vertical love and see some amazing dancers like  Emily Sweet perform.

image1

One thought on “Verticalove Q&A with Emily Sweet

Leave a Reply

