Nothing beats home.

Many of you are aware of my travels from studio to studio within the GTA. I have yet to nearly come close to visiting all the studios however I am already seeing a trend. I can’t help to compare all the studios that I visit to Pole Inc.

Here are just a few of the various things that pass in my mind when I’m on foreign ground:

  • “The poles are 50s!”
  • “The poles are 40s!”
  • “They don’t have a spin mode; why on earth would you want that?”
  • “F#$% I just kicked the ceiling; again”
  • “Why on earth would you not have mirrors that go to the floor?”
  • “Not enough mirrors”
  • “I hate brass; oh wait I love brass; no, no I definitely hate brass!”
  • “It’s to cold”
  • “It’s to hot”
  • “No crash mat, that is just not safe!”
  • “Really I have to lug my own yoga mat to the studio on top of all the rest of my stuff!”

However not all of my thoughts are negative:

  • “Everyone has a crash mat!”
  • “So many foam rollers!”
  • “More than one bathroom!”
  • “I could move into these change rooms.”
  • “Such pretty decor.”
  • “How convenient; forgot my leg warmers; I guess I will just buy a pair”
  • “Real wood floors, so nice underfoot.”

My original plan was to write a blog post about each studio I visited the things I liked and disliked about them; similar to the list about but with studio names attached to the items. This is not the case anymore because the first thing I learned is that every dancer has different needs and everyone sees different items as positive and negative in a studio.  I definitely still plan on writing a post about every studio I have visited and will visit however these are more going to be a general experience post, about the studio, the people I met and how I felt during the short time I spent at each studio.

I also wanted to take a moment to mentioned that I have been overwhelmed at how welcomed I have felt in each studio that I have visited.  I have been so nervous each time I have set foot in a new studio.

So far one of the big things I have taken from my travels from studio to studio are the big questions to ask yourself when you select a home studio.

  • How do you fit in with the other people at the studio?
  • Are the classes at times that work for you?
  • Do they offer open practice?
  • How are you going to travel to the studio?
  • The cost?
  • The variety of classes?
  • The level of class, are they challenging enough?
  • The equipment: The size, height and finish of poles? Do the pole spin or are they on static only?
  • Other equipment such as weights, foam rollers, yoga mats and gym equipment – what does the studio have that you can use?

Anything else pass those basic questions are frills.  It is nice that a studio is well decorated, beautiful, has massive change rooms, sells items or anything else one can come up with; but all those to me are fluff / extras lets say.  They are not requirements of a good studio in my mind.

I would like to point out that there are no truly right or wrong answers to any of the above questions. Every pole dancer has different requirements and needs.

In my eyes Alex has done a great job in creating a space at Pole Inc. When answering the questions in reference to her studio all my answers are positive ones. I am proud to have referred to Pole Inc. as my home studio for almost 2 years and would gladly send any friend her way to try out a pole or dance class.

Closing this post with one of my prouder moments at Pole Inc. when I finally nailed this meathook variation.

IMG_5838

Leave a Reply

